BBL may hit boundary tiebreaker for six

25 July 2019

The controversial tiebreaker that handed England the World Cup will come under review and may be scrapped from the BBL playing conditions

Cricket Australia will review the controversial tie-breaker method used in the recent World Cup final ahead of the next KFC BBL season.

As it stands, BBL finals are played under the same rules as the World Cup final earlier this month; in the case of a tied Super Over, the team that has scored the most boundaries will be declared the winners.

England were crowned world champions thanks to the controversial countback method and the result at Lord's has sparked discussion among Australian officials about whether it's an appropriate way to determine a BBL champion.

Relive dramatic Super Over from World Cup Final

"There's been lots of chatter about it," said CA's Head of BBL, Alistair Dobson.

"It was an amazing game; if we could have a BBL season that ends with a tie and a Super Over, it'd be a great way to finish.

"It's available to be discussed with the clubs. We haven't locked it in either way. At the moment, it's a similar finish to what we saw in the World Cup and we'll work through that over the next period of time."

Stars collapse as Renegades snatch BBL|08 title

Dobson said clubs and broadcasters would be consulted before an appropriate tiebreaker is decided upon for this coming season.

World Cup winners Brett Lee, Gautam Gambhir and Dean Jones were among those who criticised the rule following the result of Lord's, while New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson diplomatically said the result was "very hard to swallow".

Other tiebreakers that have been suggested in the wake of England claiming the World Cup are for the highest-ranked team to be declared the champion or for the team who conceded the least wickets to lift the trophy.

Alternatively, both teams could continue playing Super Overs until there is a winner.

It's your summer of cricket. Check out what's on

Filed Under

Adelaide Strikers Men

Brisbane Heat Men

Hobart Hurricanes Men

Melbourne Renegades Men

Melbourne Stars Men

Perth Scorchers

Sydney Sixers Men

Sydney Thunder Men