BBL opens door to more foreign stars

11 May 2019

Rules changed to allow clubs to sign up to six overseas players per season

The KFC Big Bash League has today confirmed a contracting rule change for BBL|09.

The BBL Player Contracting Rules will be changed to allow every BBL club to contract up to six overseas players across the season, two more than in previous years.

Clubs are entitled to have a maximum of two overseas players on their eighteen-man roster, although they can now nominate an additional four overseas players as potential replacements throughout the course of the BBL|09 season.

The pilot ruling introduced last year in consultation with the Australian Cricketers’ Association (ACA) will continue in BBL|09, whereby clubs will have the flexibility to rotate these players in and out of their squads as required.

A decision on a club’s replacement request will be at the discretion of the BBL Technical Committee.

The change comes after the League reviewed its Rules and Regulations following the conclusion of BBL|08.

Cricket Australia Executive General Manager Fan Engagement Anthony Everard said:

"At the conclusion of each season we take the time to review what’s working well and where we can make positive changes to the game and the fan experience.

"We’ve considered feedback from our fans and worked with relevant stakeholders of the game to implement changes that will continue to improve the competition in 2019/20.

"The ACA, BBL clubs and our broadcast partners have been an integral part of that, leading to the introduction of each club being allowed to contract up to six overseas players in BBL|09.

"The maximum number of overseas players permitted in a club’s squad will remain at two, but there is now increased flexibility to contract up to six players throughout the season and rotate them in and out as required.

"It’s a fantastic result for the competition, with clubs given a better chance at securing international players on a short-term basis to fit into an increasingly competitive global cricketing calendar."

Filed Under

Adelaide Strikers Men

Brisbane Heat Men

Hobart Hurricanes Men

Melbourne Renegades Men

Melbourne Stars Men

Perth Scorchers

Sydney Sixers Men

Sydney Thunder Men