Jordan completes Strikers BBL|06 squad | Big Bash League BBL
Cricket network logo


Jordan completes Strikers BBL|06 squad

01 December 2016

Chris Jordan offers a triple threat for the Adelaide Strikers // Getty

England paceman picked up to replace compatriot Rashid for Adelaide club

England quick Chris Jordan has signed on to join Adelaide Strikers as a replacement international player in BBL|06. 

Jordan will serve as a replacement for leg-spinner Adil Rashid who has been selected in England's Test touring squad of India throughout December.

Quick Single: Play Big Bash 2016 free on your mobile

The fast bowler, who is also handy with the bat and renowned for his superb hands in the field, will be available for selection for the first two Strikers games pending Rashid’s selection in the England ODI leg of the India tour.

The 28-year-old has represented England at both T20 and ODI level, most notably taking three wickets and scoring 26 (including four sixes) in his side's victory over the West Indies in 2014.

January 2014: Jordan stunner gets Warner

Jordan also has T20 experience in the Indian Premier League with the Royal Challengers Bangalore, playing nine matches and picking up 11 wickets at an average of 23.45 in 2016.

Adelaide Strikers Head Coach Jason Gillespie said he was delighted to have secured the services of Jordan, describing his well-rounded game as highly-suited to T20 cricket.

Quick Single: Narine returns for BBL|06

"Chris is an allrounder who has represented England with distinction and we are delighted to have secured his services," Gillespie said.

"He bowls very good pace, is renowned for taking early wickets and he is also known for his death bowling; and he's also one of the best fielders in the world.

"He's a quality cricketer who has all three strings to his bow, and we're extremely excited to be welcoming him here to the Adelaide Strikers."

Adelaide Strikers BBL|06 squad: Wes Agar, Alex Carey, Jonathon Dean, Ben Dunk, Travis Head, Brad Hodge (c), Jon Holland, Chris Jordan (OS), Ben Laughlin, Jake Lehmann, Tim Ludeman, Michael Neser, Kieron Pollard (OS), Kane Richardson, Craig Simmons, Kelvin Smith, Billy Stanlake, Jake Weatherald

Win $10,000 in BBL Fantasy

Filed Under

Adelaide Strikers BBL

Chris Jordan