Squads named for WBBL openers

08 December 2017

The Rebel WBBL clubs have named their teams for the Opening Weekend at North Sydney Oval and Glenelg

The Rebel WBBL clubs have named their squads for the opening weekend of the third season of the Twenty20 competition.

Although the Hobart Hurricanes made their 13-player squad announcement on Tuesday, the other clubs held off until the eve of the season-opener to name their initial squads.

At North Sydney Oval, the Melbourne Renegades and Sydney Thunder will start proceedings at 1.45pm AEDT on Saturday.

Rebel WBBL|03 launched in style in Sydney

The Renegades will unveil new recruit and captain Amy Satterthwaite, who crossed from Hobart Hurricanes, and will roll out its new-look batting line-up, spearheaded by Sri Lanka's Chamari Atapattu and former Melbourne Star Jess Duffin. Another ex-Star will be given the gloves behind the stumps, with Emma Inglis named in the 13-player squad, while allrounder Jenny Taffs is looking to play her first WBBL match since season one.

Melbourne Renegades opening weekend 13-player squad: Amy Satterthwaite (C), Molly Strano (VC), Chamari Atapattu, Kris Britt, Maitlan Brown, Jess Duffin, Emma Inglis, Hayley Jensen, Claire Koski, Sophie Molineux, Jenny Taffs, Lea Tahuhu, Georgia Wareham

Sydney Thunder could unveil some new faces in its matches against the Renegades and Sixers this weekend, naming former 'Gade Rachel Priest, new recruit Lisa Griffith and young guns Rachel Trenaman and Hannah Darlington in their 13-player squad.

The prospect of Priest taking on the side she used to captain is an intriguing one, while internationals Harmanpreet Kaur and Stafanie Taylor look set for big summers.

Sydney Thunder opening weekend 13-player squad: Alex Blackwell (C), Samantha Bates, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Rene Farrell, Maisy Gibson, Lisa Griffith, Rachael Haynes, Harmanpreet Kaur, Rachel Priest, Naomi Stalenberg, Stafanie Taylor, Rachel Trenaman

Sydney Sixers have elevated ICC Rookie Kim Garth to the main list as an overseas replacement player for the injured Lauren Cheatle (back) and named her in their 13-player squad set for the opening weekend.

Former Hurricane Erin Burns has also been named, with the remaining 11 in the squad a familiar roll-call for Sixers fans, with the likes of captain Ellyse Perry, star wicketkeeper Alyssa Healy, South Africa duo Marizanne Kapp and Dan Van Niekerk, Australia Ashes teammates Sarah Aley and Ashleigh Gardner to name a few.

Sydney Sixers' opening weekend 13-player squad: Ellyse Perry (C), Sarah Aley, Erin Burns, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Alyssa Healy, Jodie Hicks, Marizanne Kapp, Emily Leys, Sara McGlashan, Angela Reakes, Lauren Smith, Dane Van Niekerk.

Kristen Beams is set to lead the Melbourne Stars in her first match as skipper in her own right, captaining a 13-player squad  including returning South Africa batter Mignon du Preez and another Protea in new wicketkeeper-batter Lizelle Lee.

Australia off-spinner Erin Osborne is in line to make her debut for the Stars, having crossed from Sydney Thunder, while youngsters Nicole Faltum and Annabel Sutherland could also make line up for their first matches for the Stars.

Melbourne Stars opening weekend 13-player squad: Kristen Beams (C), Makinley Blows, Hayleigh Brennan, Mignon du Preez, Nicole Faltum, Emma Kearney, Alana King, Anna Lanning, Lizelle Lee, Katie Mack, Erin Osborne, Annabel Sutherland, Gemma Triscari.

Brisbane Heat has named Grace Harris' injury replacement Laura Wolvaardt in its 13-player squad ahead of Sunday's match against Perth Scorchers.

The impressive-looking line-up featuers some significant batting options, with captain Kirby Short at the top of the order, along with the likes of big-hitting West Indies star Deandra Dottin and in-form Australia Commonwealth Bank Women's Ashes star Beth Mooney, who will also don the gloves as wicketkeeper in the T20 competition.

Brisbane Heat opening weekend 13-player squad: Kirby Short (C), Jemma Barsby, Haidee Birkett, Deandra Dottin, Holly Ferling, Laura Harris, Courtney Hill, Sammy Jo Johnson, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Beth Mooney, Georgia Prestwidge, Laura Wolvaardt

Perth Scorchers announced their team on Saturday for the clash, with Meg Lanning's injury replacement, New Zealand allrounder Thamsyn Newton coming into the squad.

New Scorchers Mikayla Hinkley (Thunder) and England's Natalie Sciver (Stars) have also been named in the extended squad, which will be reduced to 11 at the coin toss on Sunday morning.

Perth Scorchers opening weekend 13-player squad: Elyse Villani (C), Nicole Bolton, Katherine Brunt, Mathilda Carmichael, Piepa Cleary, Lauren Ebsary, Heather Graham, Katie Hartshorn, Mikayla Hinkley, Emma King, Thamsyn Newton, Natalie Sciver, Emily Smith.

Meanwhile, Adelaide Strikers are set to unveil some new recruits in their two matches against the Hurricanes at Glenelg's Gliderol Stadium on Saturday and Sunday.

New Zealand international and new Strikers captain Suzie Bates - who crossed from the Perth Scorchers - is among them, set to team with White Fern teammate Sophie Devine in the WBBL for the first time. Samantha Betts will be looking to play her first game since WBBL|01, while Annie O'Neill could make her Big Bash debut. Rhiannon Dick was also named in the squad, having crossed from Sydney Sixers.

Adelaide Strikers opening weekend 13-player squad: Suzie Bates (C), Megan Schutt, Samantha Betts, Sophie Devine, Tabatha Saville, Amanda Wellington, Tegan McPharlin, Bridget Patterson, Annie O’Neil, Tammy Beaumont, Rhiannon Dick, Tahlia McGrath, Alex Price

Hobart Hurricanes opening weekend 13-player squad: Corinne Hall (c), Stefanie Daffara, Katelyn Fryett, Nicola Hancock, Brooke Hepburn, Veda Krishnamurthy, Hayley Matthews, Meg Phillips, Veronica Pyke, Celeste Raack, Georgia Redmayne, Emma Thompson, Lauren Winfield  

Filed Under

Rebel WBBL|03