Marsh to lead Scorchers in BBL|08

07 September 2018

Mitch Marsh dives for a catch // Getty Images

The star allrounder will takeover from Adam Voges at the Scorchers

The Perth Scorchers have confirmed that Australia allrounder Mitch Marsh will captain their side during the upcoming Big Bash season.

Marsh takes the reins from Adam Voges, with the former Australia batter now stepping into the vacant role as coach of the Scorchers.

The Scorchers have been able to hang on to the majority of their players for the new campaign, with Voges and fellow Australia Test player Mitchell Johnson the only two departures.

Marsh will lead an experienced squad BBL|08 that includes experienced duo Michael Klinger and Shaun Marsh, plus proven big game bowlers Andrew Tye, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Jason Behrendorff.

Cameron Bancroft is also named in the Scorchers squad, with the 25-year-old set to return from his suspension against the Hobart Hurricanes on December 30.

Bancroft bashes 49 to steady Scorchers

The Scorchers have won three Big Bash titles and Voges is confident that his squad will be competitive when their season commences against the Renegades on December 20.

"To retain our core group of players has been really important for us and we're pleased everyone has decided to stay," Voges said.

"With WA having such a strong presence in the Australian white ball teams it means a lot of our younger players will get more opportunities for the Scorchers, and many of those guys played for us last summer so I'm excited for them to build on that experience.

"We have wanted to be consistent with our squads across all three formats, so naming Mitch as captain was a good fit. He’s an exciting leader and I'm sure the Scorchers fans are going to be happy."

English allrounder David Willey is the only international currently signed by the Scorchers, but Voges can sign another overseas player if required.

Willey whacks fifty for the Scorchers

Meanwhile, the Brisbane Heat have confirmed the re-signing of experienced left-armer Josh Lalor to boost their squad numbers to 16.

Lalor has been a squad member at the Heat since 2015 and impressed with figures of 3-40 against the Strikers at BBL|07.

Current Scorchers squad: Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Cameron Green, Josh Inglis, Michael Klinger, Mitchell Marsh (c), Shaun Marsh, Joel Paris, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Sam Whiteman, David Willey (England).

Current Heat squad: Max Bryant, Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Brendan Doggett, Sam Heazlett, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Lalor, Chris Lynn, Brendon McCullum, James Pattinson, Jimmy Peirson, Jack Prestwidge, Matthew Renshaw, Alex Ross, Mark Steketee, Mitch Swepson

Filed Under

Perth Scorchers

Mitch Marsh