WBBL|04: All you need to know guide

30 November 2018

Your one-stop shop ahead of another massive Rebel Women’s Big Bash League season

What, where and when?

The Rebel WBBL returns this weekend on the back of the successful World T20 tournament that saw Australia claim their fourth title.

Fresh from the showpiece event, Australia’s superstars will take to the field at Citipower Centre (Junction Oval) in Melbourne alongside plenty of up-and-coming domestic talent and a host of international stars.

Following the success of the Opening Weekend carnival in Sydney the past two years, WBBL|04 will feature three carnivals in consecutive weeks in Melbourne, Sydney and Hobart boasting an expanded food offering, a Bounce Inc attraction, live music, player meet and greets, as well as the on-field cricket entertainment.

There will be a total of 26 venues hosting WBBL|04 matches, including some new venues such as West Park Oval in Burnie and Eastern Oval in Ballarat.

The WBBL finals series will this year be played separately from the BBL, with the decider for the women’s competition taking place on January 26, 2019.

Broadcast details

Increased broadcast coverage will see 23 WBBL matches shown live on free-to-air via 7Cricket, while Fox Cricket will simulcast the same number of matches on its dedicated cricket channel in HD and with no ad-breaks during play.

Fans will also be able to stream the televised WBBL action on and the CA Live app via Kayo – a revolutionary new sports streaming product powered by FOX SPORTS, beIN SPORTS and ESPN featuring over 50 sports Live and On Demand.

To sign up for a FREE 14-day trial to Kayo, or for more information on how you can stream cricket this summer, click HERE.

For the 36 non-broadcast games,, the CA Live app and the WBBL Facebook page will provide free live streaming of every moment.

For those seeking radio coverage, ABC Radio will be providing coverage of almost every match via a mixture of AM, FM and digital channels, with audio streaming also available on and the CA Live app.

What about going to a game?

Most matches will once again be free of charge for fans looking to get a glimpse of the WBBL’s superstars up close, while standalone home matches for the Sydney Sixers and Thunder will this year be ticketed (Adults $10, concessions $5, kids 15 and under FREE) as part of a trial ahead of next year’s dedicated window for the women’s competition in October and November.

WBBL matches that form part of a double-header with a BBL clash will require fans to purchase a ticket. More info via


For full details, click HERE.

Full squads

Adelaide Strikers

Current squad: Suzie Bates (NZ), Samantha Betts, Sarah Coyte, Sophie Devine (NZ), Eliza Doddrige, Ellen Falconer, Danielle Hazell (ENG), Tahlia McGrath, Tegan McPharlin, Bridget Patterson, Katelyn Pope, Alexandra Price, Tabatha Saville, Megan Schutt (AUS), Amanda-Jade Wellington (AUS).

In: Sarah Coyte (Sixers), Eliza Doddrige, Danielle Hazell (England).

Out: Tammy Beaumont, Rhiannon Dick, Annie O'Neill.

Marquee players signed: five

WBBL|04 previews: Adelaide Strikers

Brisbane Heat

Current squad: Jemma Barsby, Haidee Birkett, Josie Dooley, Grace Harris, Laura Harris, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Jess Jonassen (AUS), Delissa Kimmince, Charli Knott, Sune Luus (SA), Beth Mooney (AUS), Georgia Prestwidge, Kirby Short, Courtney Sippel, Lauara Wolvaardt (SA).

In: Josie Dooley, Sune Luus (South Africa), Charli Knott, Courtney Sippel.

Out: Tess Cooper, Deandra Dottin, Holly Ferling (Stars), Courtney Hill, Kara Sutherland.

Marquee players signed: four

WWBL|04 previews: Brisbane Heat

Hobart Hurricanes

Current squad: Stefanie Daffara, Ashley Day, Erin Fazackerley, Katelyn Fryett, Corinne Hall, Brooke Hepburn, Heather Knight (ENG), Smriti Mandhana (IND), Hayley Matthews (WI), Sasha Moloney (c), Rhiann O'Donnell, Meg Phillips, Veronica Pyke, Georgia Redmayne, Emma Thompson, Alex Hartley (ENG, international replacement).

In: Ashley Day, Alex Hartley (England), Heather Knight (England), Smriti Mandhana (India), Rhiann O'Donnell (Renegades)

Out: Nicola Hancock (Stars), Veda Krishnamurthy, Celeste Raack, Lauren Winfield.

Marquee players signed: three

WBBL|04 previews: Hobart Hurricanes

Melbourne Renegades

Current squad: Maitlan Brown, Zoe Cooke, Jess Duffin, Emma Inglis, Erica Kershaw, Claire Koski, Anna Lanning, Sophie Molineux, Amy Satterthwaite (NZ), Molly Strano, Lea Tahuhu (NZ), Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham, Courtney Webb, Danni Wyatt (ENG).

In: Zoe Cooke, Erica Kershaw, Anna Lanning (Stars), Courtney Webb, Danni Wyatt (England).

Out: Chamari Atapattu, Kris Britt (retired), Hayley Jensen, Rhiann O'Donnell (Hurricanes), Jennifer Taffs.

Marquee players signed: three

WBBL|04 previews: Melbourne Renegades

Melbourne Stars

Current squad: Kristen Beams (AUS), Mackinlay Blows, Elly Donald, Mignon du Preez (SA), Georgia Elwiss (ENG), Nicole Faltum, Holly Ferling, Nicola Hancock, Alana King, Lizelle Lee (SA), Katie Mack, Erin Osborne, Chloe Rafferty, Ange Reakes, Annabel Sutherland.

In: Elly Donald, Holly Ferling (Heat), Nicola Hancock (Hurricanes), Ange Reakes (Sixers)

Out: Hayleigh Brennan (Scorchers), Emma Kearney (AFLW), Anna Lanning (Renegades), Gemma Triscari (retired).

Marquee players signed: four

WBBL|04 previews: Melbourne Stars

Perth Scorchers

Current squad: Megan Banting, Nicole Bolton (AUS), Mathilda Carmichael, Piepa Cleary, Kate Cross (ENG), Lauren Ebsary, Heather Graham, Amy Jones (ENG), Emma King, Meg Lanning (AUS), Taneale Peschel, Chloe Piparo, Emily Smith, Elyse Villani (AUS).

In: Kate Cross (England), Amy Jones (England)

Out: Katie Hartshorn, Mikayla Hinkley.

Marquee players signed: three

WBBL|04 previews: Perth Scorchers

Sydney Sixers

Current squad: Sarah Aley, Erin Burns, Stella Campbell, Lauren Cheatle (AUS), Ashleigh Gardner (AUS), Alyssa Healy (AUS), Clara Iemma, Marizanne Kapp (SA), Carly Leeson, Sara McGlashan (NZ), Ellyse Perry (AUS), Hayley Silver-Holmes, Lauren Smith, Dane van Niekerk (SA), Tahlia Wilson.

In: Stella Campbell, Hayley Silver-Holmes, Tahlia Wilson.

Out: Sarah Coyte (Strikers), Jodie Hicks, Emily Leys, Angela Reakes (Stars).

Marquee players signed: seven

WBBL|04 previews: Sydney Sixers

Sydney Thunder

Current squad: Sam Bates, Alex Blackwell (AUS), Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Rene Farrell, Maisy Gibson, Lisa Griffith, Rachael Haynes, Saskia Horley, Harmanpreet Kaur (IND), Rachel Priest (NZ), Naomi Stalenberg, Stafanie Taylor (WI), Rachel Trenaman, Belinda Vakarewa.

In: Saskia Horley.

Out: Hannah Trethewy.

Marquee players signed: five

WBBL|04 previews: Sydney Thunder

Filed Under

Adelaide Strikers Women

Brisbane Heat Women

Hobart Hurricanes Women

Melbourne Renegades Women

Melbourne Stars Women

Perth Scorchers Women

Sydney Sixers Women

Sydney Thunder Women

Rebel WBBL|04