WNCL 2018-19

All the WNCL squads for 2019-20

22 May 2019

Ellyse Perry's move to Victoria headlines the squad changes heading into the 2019-20 domestic 50-over tournament

ACT Meteors

The Meteors will this season enjoy the experience of former Australia allrounder Sarah Coyte, who is making her return to domestic 50-over cricket after retiring from the international game in 2016.

Also adding some youthful exuberance, ACT have offered contracts to Isabelle Afaras – who was selected in the Australian Under 19s side – as well as Amy Yates and former Breaker Carly Leeson.

National Performance Squad member Maitlan Brown will be looking to build on recent form, while the likes of Erin Osborne, Angela Reakes and Katie Mack are sure to be consistent performers.

Ins: Sarah Coyte, Amy Yates, Isabelle Afaras, Carley Leeson

Outs: Sam Bates, Erin Burns, Clara Iemma, Hayley Jensen

ACT contracts: Erin Osborne, Isabelle Afaras, Maitlan Brown, Zoe Cooke, Sarah Coyte, Nicola Hancock, Erica Kershaw, Claire Koski, Anna Lanning, Carly Leeson, Matilda Lugg, Katie Mack, Angela Reakes, Amy Yates

NSW Breakers

As the Breakers prepare for life without Ellyse Perry, their stocks still look remarkably strong with skipper Alyssa Healy as well as fellow national players Rachael Haynes and Ash Gardner to lead the Breakers’ charge for a 21st WNCL title.

A string of departures means a new generation of talent has entered the Breakers' ranks. Three teenagers have been offered contracts for the first time, while Erin Burns, after an impressive WBBL season, has been offered a contract for the first time at the age of 30.

Ins: Hayley Silver-Holmes, Stella Campbell, Maddy Darke, Phoebe Litchfield, Erin Burns

Outs: Ellyse Perry, Nicola Carey, Maisy Gibson, Belinda Vakarewa

CA contracts: Alyssa Healy, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes

NSW contracts: Alyssa Healy, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes, Sarah Aley, Erin Burns, Stella Campbell, Laruen Cheatle, Maddy Darke, Rene Farrell, Lisa Griffith, Saskia Horley, Phoebe Litchfield, Hayley Silver-Holmes, Lauren Smith, Naomi Stalenberg, Rachel Trenaman, Tahlia Wilson

Queensland Fire

The Fire are looking well placed to go one step further this season after falling short in the 2018-19 final to NSW. Georgia Redmayne, last season’s player of the tournament, has made the move north from Tasmania and will join an already impressive Queensland squad.

The Fire have plenty of star power in the form of Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince and Beth Mooney, and when you add in the skills of Sammy Jo Johnson, Josie Dooley and Grace Harris, the Queensland squad is looking as balanced as it is impressive.

The three off-season departures include former Southern Stars batter Jess Duffin, who is opting to focus on her AFLW career.

Ins: Georgia Redmayne, Mikayla Hinkley, Lilly Mills

Outs: Jess Duffin, Tess Cooper, Sterre Kalis

CA contracts: Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Beth Mooney

Qld contracts: Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Beth Mooney, Haidee Birkett, Josie Dooley, Holly Ferling, Grace Harris, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Jemma Barsby, Meagan Dixon, Courtney Sippel, Laura Harris, Lilly Mills, Kirby Short, Georgia Prestwidge, Georgia Redmayne, Mikayla Hinkley

SA Scorpions

Under the tutelage of new coach Luke Williams, skipper and Aussie mainstay Megan Schutt will spearhead a young South Australian side that is well placed to improve on last season’s bottom-of-the-table finish.

National Performance Squad members Amanda-Jade Wellington and Tahlia McGrath are among the young guns hoping to take the Scorpions to the next level this summer, while lesser-known players like Darcie Brown, Stacey Oates and Emma de Broughe have all impressed in the state set-up and have scored their first contracts.

Ins: Stacey Oates, Emma de Broughe, Darcie Brown

Outs: Katelyn Pope, Sarah Lowe, Brooke Harris, Kelly Armstrong

CA contracts: Megan Schutt

SA squad: Megan Schutt, Tegan McPharlin, Bridget Patterson, Tahlia McGrath, Eliza Doddridge, Shae Daly, Tabatha Saville, Alex Price, Sam Betts, Annie O’Neil, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Stacey Oates, Darcie Brown, Emma De Broughe, Ellie Falconer

Tasmanian Roar

With five new faces, including CA contracted allrounder Nicola Carey, there is plenty happening down in Tasmania. Off the back of a ground-breaking season 2018-19, acclaimed coach Salliann Briggs will be looking to build on the impressive work already being done in the Apple Isle.

Belinda Vakarewa and Maisy Gibson have joined Carey in moving from NSW, Samantha Bates has joined from the ACT, while Emily Smith comes across from Western Australia.

Notable departures include stalwart Veronica Pyke as well as Georgia Redmayne, who has relocated to QLD to pursue her medical career.

Ins: Samantha Bates, Nicola Carey, Maisy Gibson, Emily Smith, Belinda Vakarewa

Outs: Ashley Day, Veronica Pyke, Celeste Raack, Georgia Redmayne

CA contracts: Nicola Carey

Tasmania squad: Samantha Bates, Nicola Carey, Stef Daffara, Erin Fazackerley, Katelyn Fryett, Maisy Gibson, Corinne Hall, Brooke Hepburn, Emma Mannix-Geeves, Sasha Moloney, Meg Phillips, Emily Smith, Emma Thompson, Belinda Vakarewa, Courtney Webb


The Victorian squad already looked impressive on paper and when you add Ellyse Perry to that mix, the navy blues are shaping up as genuine contenders to wrestle the trophy from the Breakers in season 2019-20.

Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham and Sophie Molineux all had breakout seasons last summer, contributing to Australia’s T20 World Cup win, while Alana King, Annabel Sutherland and Molly Strano all showed plenty of promise on the domestic scene.

Two teenagers, Tess Flintoff and Lucy Cripps, have earned their first state contracts, while long-time Victorian player Emma Inglis has been delisted.

Ins: Ellyse Perry, Tess Flintoff, Lucy Cripps

Outs: Emma Inglis

CA contracts: Ellyse Perry, Meg Lanning, Elyse Villani, Sophie Molineux, Georgia Wareham

Victoria squad: Kristen Beams, Makinley Blows, Lucy Cripps, Elly Donald, Nicole Faltum, Tess Flintoff, Alana King, Meg Lanning, Sophie Molineux, Courtney Neale, Rhiann O’Donnell, Ellyse Perry, Chloe Rafferty, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Elyse Villani, Amy Vine, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham

Western Fury

New Zealand powerhouse Sophie Devine is a huge addition for the Western Fury, and the Kiwi’s big-hitting will balance nicely with Nicole Bolton’s experience at the top of the order. 2018-19 Domestic Player of the Year Heather Graham should also be well placed to build on her recent form after a stint at the National Performance Squad.

Head coach and former Australia player Lisa Keightley is content with the largely unchanged squad, but excited by the two new faces in the Fury camp; Molly Healy is a young quick from South Perth, and Ashely Day is a batter who’s jumped ship from New South Wales.

Ins: Ashley Day, Sophie Devine, Molly Healy

Outs: Mel Cameron, Bhavi Devchand, Emily Smith

CA contracts: Nicole Bolton

WA contracts: Nicole Bolton, Megan Banting, Mathilda Carmichael, Piepa Cleary, Sheldyn Cooper, Ashley Day, Sophie Devine, Amy Edgar, Heather Graham, Molly Healy, Kath Hempenstall, Ashlee King, Emma King, Taneale Peschel, Chloe Piparo

Filed Under

NSW Breakers

Queensland Fire

SA Scorpions

Tasmanian Tigers Women

Victoria Women

Western Australia Women

WNCL 2018-19